Scholarships January 2015 2015 usda 1890 National Scholars Program Deadline: is February 1, 2015

Download 19.17 Kb.
Size19.17 Kb.

January 2015

2015 USDA 1890 National Scholars Program

Deadline: is February 1, 2015.

The National Scholars Program is a major effort of the USDA and nineteen 1890 Historically Black Land-Grant Institutions (HBCUs) to award scholarships to students to attend one of the nineteen 1890 Institutions in any field of study in agriculture, food, natural resource sciences or other related disciplines. The USDA/1890 National Scholars Program will provide full tuition, employment, employment benefits, fees, books, and room and board each year for up to four years to selected students pursuing a bachelor’s degree at the following universities:

• Alabama A&M University • Alcorn State University

Central State University, Ohio • Delaware State University

• Florida A&M University • Fort Valley State University, Georgia

Kentucky State University • Langston University, Oklahoma

• Lincoln University, Missouri • North Carolina A&T State University

• Prairie View A&M University, Texas • South Carolina State University

• Southern University, Louisiana • Tennessee State University

• Tuskegee University, Alabama • University of Arkansas Pine Bluff

• University of Maryland Eastern Shore • Virginia State University

• West Virginia State University

Eligible students must be U.S. citizens, have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or better, have been accepted at one of the 1890 HBCUs, study agriculture, food, natural resource sciences or other related academic disciplines, demonstrate leadership and community service, etc. Please visit the USDA 1890 National Scholars Program website for more information. The scholarship may be renewed each year contingent upon satisfactory academic performance and normal progress toward the bachelor’s degree.

High school applications and college applications may be downloaded from this website: Application and supporting documentation

SCAD Distinguished Scholars Award

Deadline: Feb. 15, 2015

The SCAD Distinguished Scholars Award is a prestigious scholarship in the amount of US$20,000 per year. To be considered, students must be recommended by a teacher, professor or school counselor. This scholarship is applicable toward tuition to attend SCAD in Atlanta, Hong Kong, Savannah or online via eLearning, and may be renewed annually, provided the recipient is enrolled and maintains a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.0.

See your counselor for more information
The EduGuide Challenge – Create your own “Drum Major” video

Deadline: Feb. 20, 2015

Weeks before he was assassinated, the Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. delivered his famous sermon, “The Drum Major Instinct,” in which he candidly shared how he wanted to be remembered after his death for his core purpose: giving his life serving others. It’s a call to dedicate our lives to making a better world. Now it’s your turn to spread the call in the nonprofit EduGuide Challenge. Students in grades 6-12 are invited to submit your own 1-5 minute video at

Prizes include 10 $100 Amazon Gift Cards and 1 $1000 Scholarship.
Whitaker Bank Sweet 16 Scholarship

Deadline: Feb. 25, 2015

For the second year, Whitaker Bank, as part of its continuing title sponsorship of the Boys’ Sweet 16®, and the KHSAA will be presenting four one-time $1,500 scholarships. The scholarships are open to high school seniors that participate in KHSAA sanctioned sports and sport-activities. Winners will be recognized during the 2015 Whitaker Bank/KHSAA Boys’ State Basketball Tournament, March 18-22 in Lexington.

Whitaker Bank/KHSAA Sweet 16® Scholarship Application Form:

The Buick Achievers Scholarship Program

Deadline: Feb. 27, 2015

Buick Achievers rewards students who have succeeded both inside and outside of the classroom—and who may not be able to attend college without financial assistance. It’s a reward for what you’ve made of yourself and the difference you are making for others.

The Buick Achievers Scholarship Program is offering up to $25,000 per year for 50 first-time freshmen or existing college students, renewable for up to four years and one additional year for those entering a qualified five-year engineering program

Apply online at

WKU Society of African American Alumni

Feb. 28, 2015

The scholarship recipient will receive $1,000 per academic year for four (4) years to be used at Western Kentucky University AND enrollment in the Alumni Leadership Scholars (ALS) program. The ALS program is a leadership development program that meets on a regular basis to visit alumni at businesses and organizations in the community and across the state.

Selection will be based upon all of the following criteria being met:

  • ACT composite score must be 20 or above

  • Cumulative high school GPA must be 3.0 or above on an unweighted 4.0 grading scale

  • Two-page double-spaced essay that answers the question: "Why should I be selected as the 2015 Howard and Kayla Bailey Leadership Scholar?"

  • Applicant must have applied for admission to Western Kentucky University

See your counselor for additional information.

The Horse Farm Workers Education Assistance Fund In order to be eligible for a HFWEAF Scholarship, at least one of the applicant's parents must have worked full-time for the last three years on a central Kentucky Thoroughbred horse farm and currently be employed by a farm. Applicants must have completed high school or a GED program. Scholarships are for education after high school and are based upon need, merit, essays, and personal interviews.

Applications will be available in May and the deadline is July 1. Please visit for more information.

Download 19.17 Kb.

Share with your friends:

The database is protected by copyright © 2022
send message

    Main page