National union Government declared nscn-k as terrorist organization under uapa, 1967

Union Cabinet approved setting up of six Indian Institutes of Management (IIM)

Download 1.28 Mb.
Size1.28 Mb.
1   ...   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   ...   22

Union Cabinet approved setting up of six Indian Institutes of Management (IIM)

The Union Cabinet on 24 June 2015 approved setting up of six new Indian Institutes of Management (IIMs) in the country. The cabinet meet was chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

These new IIMs will be located at Amritsar (Punjab), Bodh Gaya (Bihar), Nagpur (Maharashtra), Sambalpur (Odisha), Sirmaur (Himachal Pradesh) and Vishakhapatnam (Andhra Pradesh).

These IIMs are intended to commence their first academic session from 2015-16. Each Institute will start with an intake of 140 students in the Post Graduate Programme (PGP) courses.

These IIMs are being set up as part commitment made by the Union Government in its Budget presentation of July 2014. In the July 2014 Budget, it was proposed to set up five IIMs in Bihar, Himachal Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha and Punjab.

With the bifurcation of erstwhile Andhra Pradesh state into two States of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana the need for setting up of an IIM in Andhra Pradesh in pursuance of the Andhra Pradesh Re-organization Act, 2014 was necessitated.

PM launched AMRUT, Smart Cities Mission and Housing for All (Urban)

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on 25 June 2015 launched three urban development schemes- AMRUT, Smart Cities Mission and Housing for All (Urban) in New Delhi.

During the occasion, the Prime Minister also released logos and taglines for AMRUT and Smart Cities Mission; and guidelines for AMRUT, Smart Cities Mission and Housing for All (Urban).

Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT): It is aimed at developing infrastructure in 500 cities and towns that are having a population of one lakh and above with an outlay of 50000 crore rupees between 2015-16 and 2019-20.

Smart Cities Mission: It is aimed at developing 100 smart cities across the country with an outlay of 48000 crore rupees between 2015-16 and 2019-20.

Housing for All (Urban): The Central Sector Scheme aimed at providing housing facilities to all eligible people in urban areas by 2022.

Union Ministry of Home Affairs designated Agatti and Minicoy Islands as Immigration Check Posts

The Union Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) on 22 June 2015 designated Agatti and Minicoy islands of Lakshadweep as authorised Immigration Check Posts for entry into or exit from India.

Both the islands will be used as transit points for all classes of passengers with valid travel documents from 30 June 2015.

While Agatti is spread over 3.84 square kms, Minicoy has an area over 4.80 sq kms. Minicoy lies near one of the busiest shipping routes and is about 130 km from the northern-most island of Maldives.

The two new immigration check points will help easy access to tourists, mainly travelling by luxury cruises, to India.

At present, there are 82 Immigration Check Posts all over the country catering to international traffic.

Out of these, 37 are functioning under the Bureau of Immigration, while the remaining is being managed by the state governments concerned.

Railway Ministry decided to run Suvidha Trains

Ministry of Railways on 12 June 2015 decided to run Suvidha trains with dynamic fares from July 2015. The decision to run Suvidha trains was taken to address the rush during peak travel seasons.

These trains will have dynamic fare system and there will not be any downward movement of the fare. Also, these trains may be run during peak seasons like winter rush, summer rush, Dussehra rush, Holi rush and on other occasions.

Some facts about Suvidha Trains

• Only confirmed and RAC tickets will be issued for these trains and there will be no waiting list. No concession like free passes/complimentary passes/warrant/concessional voucher will be available on these trains.

• The maximum advance reservation period will be 30 days while the minimum advance reservation period will be of 10 days.

• Full adult fare shall be changed for all passengers irrespective of their age.

• These tickets can be availed from e-ticketing as well as through PRS counters, but the traveler will have to carry his prescribed Identity Card during the journey for verification purpose

• Modification or duplicate ticket or cluster bookings or BPT will not be allowed.

• Only General quota bookings will be applicable.

• Upgradation option shall not be applicable in these trains.

• There shall be no First AC or Fist Class or Executive class or general class or 2nd sitting coach in the train composition of Suvidha Trains.

Three types of trains to be run under the Suvidha Trains services

• Fully air-conditioned services with or without stoppages: Base Price: (Rajdhani base fare + Tatkal charges).

• Mixed services having no enroute commercial stoppages on mixed Duronto pattern: Base price: (Mixed Duronto base fare + Tatkal charges).

• For mixed services having some stoppages enroute and running as Mail/Express: Base price: (Mail/Express base fare + Tatkal charges).

Union Government launched Migrant Resource Centre in Chennai

The Union Ministry of Overseas Indian Affairs (MOIA) along with the Tamil Nadu Government on 11 June 2015 launched the Migrant Resource Centre (MRC) in Chennai. The MRC in Chennai is the fourth such MRC in India set-up by MOIA.

The MRC will provide information, guidance, advise and counselling on all aspects of overseas employment including legal and regulatory requirements; documentation and procedures; policies; and problems faced while working aboard to intending migrants and overseas Indian workers.

Functions of the MRC

• The MRC will disseminate information on safe and legal migration.

• It will disseminate information about status of Recruiting Agents and other service providers.

• It will register and respond to complaints and grievances within the redressal forum of MOIA.

• It will also offer counselling support (walk in or telephone and email support).

The first Migrant Resource Centre (MRC) was established by MOIA in 2008 in Kochi, Kerala, followed by fully functional MRCs in Hyderabad (Telengana & Andhra Pradesh), Gurgaon (Haryana) and Chennai (Tamil Nadu).

Download 1.28 Mb.

Share with your friends:
1   ...   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   ...   22

The database is protected by copyright © 2022
send message

    Main page