Michael Birt. (Concert Hall and Gordon House) Michael Birt

Download 1.18 Mb.
Size1.18 Mb.
1   2

Nathan Brown is a songwriter, photographer, and award-winning poet from Norman, Oklahoma. He is also serving as the current Poet Laureate of the State of Oklahoma.


Nathan has published nine books. Less Is More, More or Less just came out, and Karma Crisis: New and Selected Poems, released last summer, was a finalist for the 2013 Paterson Poetry Prize and the Oklahoma Book Award. A previous book, Two Tables Over, won the 2009 Oklahoma Book Award.

Hosted by Dominique and Charles Inge
1:45 p.m. – 2:45 p.m. Concurrent Afternoon Sessions

  1. Five x 5: Twenty-five Stories by Five Texas Writers (Concert Hall)

  1. Jerry Craven serves as press director for Lamar University Press and Ink Brush Press. He is also editor-in-chief for Amarillo Bay. In November TCU press will publish his 26th book, Women of Thunder.

  2. Terry Dalrymple teaches literature and fiction writing at Angelo State University. He is co-author of Texas Five X 5: Twenty-five Stories by Five Texas Writers, out from Stephen F. Austin State UP and author of Love Stories (Sort Of), a collection of short fiction forthcoming from Lamar UP.

  3. Andrew Geyer’s latest book project is as co-editor of the composite anthology A Shared Voice. He is the author of Dixie Fish, a novel; and, Whispers in Dust and Bone, a story cycle that won the silver medal for short fiction in the Foreword Magazine Book of the Year Awards and the Spur Award from the Western Writers of America. In this session, his creative nonfiction piece is called, “Leaving Lone Star.”

  1. Mixed Genre (Rock House)

  1. Donna Walker-Nixon will read a few pages of one of her “Lizzie” stories, after which she will ask the audience for plot suggestions on what will happen next in the child's life. A 2002 recipient of the Minnie Stevens Piper award, she is the founding editor of Windhover: A Journal of Christian Literature and co-founding editor of Langdon Review of the Arts in Texas. Her novel Canaan’s Oothoon was published by TAGS Publishing in 2010.

  2. Carol Coffee Reposa, professor emeritus of English at San Antonio College, now serves as poetry editor of Voices de la Luna. Her poems, reviews, and essays have appeared or are forthcoming in The Atlanta Review, Evansville Review, The Texas Observer, Coal City Review, and other journals and anthologies. Carol has received three Pushcart Prize nominations, and twice has made the short list for Texas Poet Laureate. Her presentation is “Adventures (and Misadventures) Abroad: One Writer's Travels.”

  3. Thomas “Tom” Murphy, 2-time winner of the Charles Gordone award in both fiction and poetry 2000 and 2001 respectively, he has had work recently published in Beatitude: Golden Anniversary Edition, Windward Review, Nebula, and the first four issues of Strike, plus, forthcoming work in Red River Review and Switchgrass. He teaches at Texas A&M University—Corpus Christi, where he currently chairs the University Authors’ Day program. His presentation is called, “Horizon to Horizon.”

3 p.m. - 4:15 p.m. Plenary Afternoon Session

Mixed Genre: “New and Selected Works” (Concert Hall)

  1. Alan Birkelbach is the 2005 Poet Laureate of Texas. He has received a Fellowship Grant from the Writer’s League of Texas, been named as one of the Distinguished Poets of Dallas, was nominated for a Wrangler, Spur, and Pushcart Prizes, and is a member of both the Texas Institute of Letters and The Academy of American Poets. He has been a featured reader at the Texas Book Festival twice. He wants to do it again.

  2. Steve Sherwood is the author of Field Guide: Essays and Stories (Angelina River Press, 2014), and two novels: Hardwater (Texas Review Press, 2005), which won the George Garrett Fiction Prize, and No Asylum (Forthcoming from Texas Review Press in October 2014). His other publications include the St. Martin’s Sourcebook for Writing Tutors, co-edited with Christina Murphy. He is director of the William L. Adams Center for Writing at Texas Christian University.

  3. Ronald E. Moore’s first book of poetry, Alterity, was published in 2006. He is included in 8 Voices, an anthology of southwestern poetry, and has had multiple poems in descant and The Langdon Review. He will be reading from his new book, If in Later Years, (TCU Press, Fall 2014).

  4. Karla K. Morton, the 2010 Texas Poet Laureate, is a Councilor of the Texas Institute of Letters and a Betsy Colquitt Award Winner. She is twice an Indie National Book Award Winner, and the author of nine collections, with her 10th collection of poetry forthcoming (Fall 2014). Karla’s nomination has been permanently accepted into the Cowgirl Hall of Fame. She considers the Langdon Weekend to be one of the greatest catalysts of her career.

Friday evening 6:00 p.m. – 7:15 p.m. Dinner, with the music of Pasticcio

Harris Kirby on mandolin and Jim Toler on guitar

7:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. Evening Session: SceneShop

(Langdon Center Concert Hall)

Since 1996, SceneShop has produced over 100 new works—scenes and monologues—and presented them in an intimate, minimalist style, focusing on the essential communication between the playwright, the producing ensemble and the audience.

September 6, 2014 Saturday

9:30 a.m. – noon Saturday Morning Brunch

(Langdon Center Lawn Tent and Concert Hall)
John Burnett

NPR Southwest Correspondent

John Burnett graduated from the University of Texas at Austin with a bachelor's degree in journalism. His favorite stories are those that reveal a hidden reality. Abroad, his report on the accidental U. S. Air Force bombing of the Iraqi village of Al-Taniya, helped listeners understand the fog of war. His “Cocaine Republics” series detailed the emergence of Central America as a major drug smuggling region. Though he roves all over the world, he is based in Austin.
Directory: langdonreview -> weekend

Download 1.18 Mb.

Share with your friends:
1   2

The database is protected by copyright ©sckool.org 2023
send message

    Main page