Message from the principals



Download 0.8 Mb.
Page2/6
Date04.05.2017
Size0.8 Mb.
1   2   3   4   5   6



An ALS community that values:



Awareness

Life-long learning and

Service
Parent and Student

Handbook

2012/2013

MESSAGE FROM THE PRINCIPALS
Dear Parents and Students,
We would like to extend a warm welcome to those of you either returning to ALS or attending for the first time.
This handbook is a guide for the ALS community to:

  • obtain information on day to day activities;

  • clarify expectations and responsibilities of students and teachers;

  • inform students and parents about the school policies and procedures;

  • inform community members about how to get involved.

We urge both parents and students to read this handbook together and we encourage you to contact the school office if you require any information or clarification.


The newsletter, Spotlight, sent home monthly, is a major means of communication from school to home. Furthermore, our website is also a source of information, especially in cases of emergency. We hope that you will keep yourself updated by visiting it at www.alsschools.com .
We look forward to a productive year.
Regards,

Majdi El Hajj Kathy Khayatt Farajallah

Boys’ School Principal Girls’ School Principal

K-3 Principal




VISION……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..7'>TABLE OF CONTENTS

MISSION STATEMENT………………………………………………………………………………………………7

VISION……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..7

GUIDING PRINCIPLES……………………………………………………………………………….………………7

IB LEARNER PROFILE………………………………………………………………………………….……………9

COMMUNICATION……………………………………………………………………………………….………….10

CONTACT INFORMATION….................................................................12

CALENDAR……………………………………………………………………………………………………………..15

SCHEDULE……………………………………………………………………………………………………………..16

CURRICULUM…………………………………………………………………………………………………………17

ACADEMIC PROGRAMME……………………………………………………………………………………….17

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS……………………………………………………………………………..20

ASSESSMENT POLICY…………………………………………………………………………………………….21

REPORTING OF STUDENT PERFORMANCE……………………………………………………………26

ACADEMIC INTEGRITY POLICY……………………………………………………………………………..29

LANGUAGE POLICY……………………………………………………………………………………………….30

HOMEWORK POLICY……………………………………………………………………………………………..33

PROMOTION/RETENTION POLICY………………………………………………………………………..34

DISCIPLINARY POLICY AND PROCEDURES…………………………………………………………..35

ATTENDANCE POLICY…………………………………………………………………………………………..40

COMPUTER USE POLICY……………………………………………………………………………………….43

PRIVATE TUTORING POLICY…………………………………………………………………………………43

GENERAL INFORMATION……………………………………………………………………………………..44

After School Activities………………………………………………………………..44

Assemblies…………………………………………………………………………………….44

Birthdays……………………………………………………………………………………….44

Books and Supplies……………………………………………………………………….44

Clinic………………………………………………………………………………………………44

Emergencies………………………………………………………………………………….45

House System………………………………………………………………………………..45

Lockers…………………………………………………………………………………………..45

Snacks…………………………………………………………………………………………….45

Telephone……………………………………………………………………………………..45

MISSION STATEMENT

Advanced Learning Schools provides students with an opportunity to acquire and demonstrate knowledge, appreciation and respect for their own cultural heritage, integrated with an understanding of, curiosity about, and compassion and tolerance towards other cultures of the world. It provides an environment that encourages moral development, active and independent learning, analytical thinking, life-long learning, respect for individual differences, and sensitivity to the moral, social and environmental requirements of the global community.



VISION

An ALS community that values:



Awareness

Life-long learning and

Service

GUIDING PRINCIPLES

ALS provides an environment that fosters understanding, independence, interdependence and cooperation.

Within that context we believe that:
ALS students appreciate:


  • Arabic culture, language and literature;

  • developing personal values while appreciating the values of others;

  • valuing one’s own culture while understanding and demonstrating respect for the culture of others; and

  • understanding multiculturalism within a global society.

ALS is a caring community that encourages students by example to:



  • share, cooperate and contribute responsibly to a global society;

  • develop sensitivity to appropriate work and social relationships consistent with the principle of equal rights, including gender equality;

  • display sound decision-making skills by reflecting on choices and consequences;

  • lead a positive, healthy life;

  • care for others as they would have others care for them;

  • share resources; and

  • build understanding and trust.

ALS students strive for academic excellence by:



  • learning how to learn and discovering the joy of learning;

  • attaining depth and breadth of academic knowledge and understanding;

  • acquiring skills that support intellectual endeavour and academic success;

  • acquiring aesthetic appreciation;

  • understanding modern technologies and using them wisely and effectively; and

  • acquiring academic skills and knowledge required to gain entrance to and success at competitive local and international universities.

ALS students benefit from an international education whereby they:



  • gain historic and contemporary knowledge and understanding of the world through intellectual endeavour;

  • acquire international understanding by studying and experiencing other cultures while, at the same time, acquiring knowledge of, and appreciation for, their own cultural heritage; and

  • maintain the fluency of their mother tongue while valuing the acquisition of other languages.

ALS students are committed to the spirit of internationalism by:



  • demonstrating respect for human rights and for the principle of equal rights irrespective of race or gender;

  • practicing tolerance and living together in peace and developing skills for the peaceful resolution of conflict;

  • understanding their individual responsibilities within society and the relationship between rights and responsibilities; and

  • providing leadership that demonstrates an awareness of ethical and moral issues.

IB Learner Profile:

We have adopted the Learner Profile created by the International Baccalaureate (IB) as a guide here at ALS.

All members of the ALS community strive to be:

Inquirers - They develop their natural curiosity. They acquire the skills necessary to conduct inquiry and research and show independence in learning. They actively enjoy learning and this love of learning will be sustained throughout their lives.

Knowledgeable – They explore concepts, ideas and issues that have local and global significance. In doing so, they acquire in-depth knowledge and develop understanding across a broad and balanced range of disciplines.

Thinkers – They exercise initiative in applying thinking skills critically and creatively to recognize and approach complex problems and make reasoned, ethical decisions.

Communicators – They understand and express ideas and information confidently and creatively in more than one language and in a variety of modes of communication. They work effectively and willingly in collaboration with others.

Principled – They act with integrity and honesty, with a strong sense of fairness, justice and respect for the dignity of the individual, groups and communities. They take responsibility for their own actions and the consequences that accompany them.

Open-minded – They understand and appreciate their own cultures and personal histories, and are open to the perspectives, values and traditions of other individuals and communities. They are accustomed to seeking and evaluating a range of points of view, and are willing to grow from the experience.

Caring – They show empathy, compassion and respect towards the needs and feelings of others. They have a personal commitment to service, and act to make a positive difference to the lives of others and to the environment.

Risk-takers – They approach unfamiliar situations and uncertainty with courage and forethought, and have the independence of spirit to explore new roles, ideas and strategies. They are brave and articulate in defending their beliefs.

Balanced – They understand the importance of intellectual, physical and emotional balance to achieve personal well-being for themselves and others.

Reflective – They give thoughtful consideration to their own learning and experience. They are able to assess and understand their strengths and limitations in order to support their learning and personal development.

COMMUNICATION

At Advanced Learning Schools, we value our parents highly. Their input and support help make our school a special place in the lives of their children. We encourage them to communicate with us and to become involved in our school. Parents are always welcome at the school. Any time parents have questions or concerns, they are encouraged to make an appointment to come and see us. The school will communicate with the community in the following ways:



Spotlight

The students bring home the school publication, “Spotlight”, monthly. It helps keep the community informed about all ALS and community activities.



ALS Website

The school’s website has a huge amount of information including the curriculum, contact details, events and calendars. It is worth visiting the site regularly to keep up with what is happening in the school and therefore affecting your child.



Meeting

Teachers will encourage you to contact them and to make arrangements to meet. If you want to see them, please contact them by telephone or email (or through the Principals' offices) to make an appointment. The Principals, Coordinators and Counsellors are also available to discuss any issue related to your child and the school. They can be contacted directly, or through the Principals’ offices.



Telephone

Teachers are encouraged to get in touch with you regarding important issues that involve your child. We recognize that if you do not hear anything then you will assume that all is well.

Reception will take a message if you cannot contact the teacher directly. If your telephone number changes at any time during the year, it is crucial that you inform the school as soon as possible to keep the communication channels open.
Mobile SMS

The school will contact you using SMS to remind you of events, dates and information about your child. It is highly recommended that you update your mobile number with the Admissions and Marketing Office to keep communication channels open.



Email

Teachers will contact you using email where appropriate and you are encouraged to contact teachers through email if this is convenient. If your email address changes at any time during the year, it is crucial that you inform the school as soon as possible to keep communication channels open.



Parent / Teacher / Student Conferences

There are Parent/Teacher/Student Conferences regularly in the year. Please refer to the school calendar and website for dates. Your attendance at these conferences is of the utmost importance.



Open House

At the beginning of each school year we hold an Open House. The details of the evening are sent home. During the evening you have the chance to meet your son/daughter’s teachers. There will be an opportunity to discuss the curriculum, expectations and the various activities that will happen throughout the year. We encourage all parents to attend this evening. If you cannot attend, then feel free to contact the school or the teachers to see them at a mutually convenient time.



CONTACT INFORMATION
There are a variety of ways to contact people at the school. We are happy to receive telephone calls and letters, but email is our preferred form of communication for non-urgent matters.

Administration

Superintendent Iain Stirling istirling@alsschools.com

Superintendent’s PA Zahra Loubani zloubani@alsschools.com



K-3 & Girls’ School Principal Kathy Khayatt kkhayatt@alsschools.com
K-3 Receptionist Najla Al Daoudi naldaoudi@alsschools.com

Boys’ School Principal Majdi El Hajj melhajj@alsschools.com

Boys' Principal PA Joanna Semaha jmatta@alsschools.com



MYP/Girls’ Coordinator Rola Abu Sager rabusager@alsschools.com
Boys’ Coordinator Ahmad Al Khuzaii akhuzai@alsschools.com
Girls’ & College Counsellor Suhair Ghandour sghandour@alsschools.com
K-3 & Boys’ Counsellor Imran Illyas iilyas@alsschools.com

PYP Coordinator Heidi Brenner hbrenner@alsschools.com

DP Coordinator Mark Johnson mjohnson@alsschools.com

IB Officer Maysoon Al Salehi malsalhy@alsschools.com



After School Activities Coordinators

Eman Qandeel eqandeel@alsschools.com

Mohamad Akour makour@alsschools.com

Admissions and Marketing Manager

Shermeen El Hakim selhakim@alsschools.com



School Doctor Dr. Hanan Abo El Seod haboelsaud@alsschools.com

Academic Staff List:

Name

Position

Email Address




Agathe El Deek

French Teacher

adeek@alsschools.com




Ahmad Al razouk

Islamic Studies/Arabic Social Studies Teacher

arazouk@alsschools.com




Ahmad Al-Khuza'i

Boys’ coordinator / CAS Coordinator

akhuzai@alsschools.com




Ahmad Basha

Grade 4 Homeroom Teacher

abasha@alsschools.com




Amal Albarraq

Islamic Studies/ Arabic Social Studies Teacher

aalbarraq@alsschools.com




Bilal Dalia

Chemistry/ Biology Teacher

bdalia@alsschools.com




Carmen Hill

KG2 Homeroom Teacher

chill@alsschools.com




Charlotte Saunders

Grade 2 Homeroom Teacher

csaunders@alsschools.com




Claude Sgro

French/Spanish Teacher

csgro@alsschools.com




Dorothy Blancaflor

Teacher Assistant

dblancaflor@alsschools.com




Eiman Kandeel

Arabic / Arabic Social Studies Teacher/ ASA Coordinator

eqandeel@alsschools.com




Eman Al-Sakran

Teacher Assistant

ealsakran@alsschools.com




Emilie Bateson

English Teacher

ebateson@alsschools.com




Fadel Al Faqih

Lab Technician

falfaqih@alsschools.com




Farouq Hamdan

Math/ Biology/ Chemistry Teacher

fhamdan@alsschools.com




Fatimah Ammori

Arabic/Arabic Social Studies Teacher

fammouri@alsschools.com




George Salmon

Humanities/Psychology Teacher

gsalmon@alsschools.com




Giedre Dudaite

English Teacher /7-12 Languages Team Leader

gdudaite@alsschools.com




Hanaa Zain

Grade 3 Homeroom Teacher

hzain@alsschools.com




Hasan Al-Khatib

Arabic/Arabic Social Studies Teacher

halkhatib@alsschools.com




Heidi Brenner

PYP Coordinator

hbrenner@alsschools.com




Huda Dodge

Grade 4 Homeroom Teacher / K-6 English & Social Studies Team Leader

hdodge@alsschools.com




Iain Stirling

Superintendent


istirling@alsschools.com




Iman Abou Ammo

Grade 1 Homeroom Teacher

iammo@alsschools.com




Imran Ilyas

K-3 and Boys’ Counsellor

iilyas@alsschools.com




Isgak Jacobs

Physical Education and Health Teacher / Team Leader

ijacobs@alsschools.com




Janetta Heinicke

Grade 4 Homeroom Teacher

jheinicke@alsschools.com




Jonathan O'sullivan

Grade 6 Homeroom Teacher

jsullivan@alsschools.com




Joumana Kaddoura

KG 1 Homeroom Teacher

jkaddoura@alsschools.com




Joyce Pharo

Grade 2 Homeroom Teacher

jpharo@alsschools.com




Juveriya Mir

English/ Humanities/ History Teacher/Team Leader

jmir@alsschools.com




Kaouther Haddar

Teacher Assistant

khaddar@alsschools.com




Kathleen Khayatt

K-3 & Girls Principal

kkhayatt@alsschools.com




Khedija Mohamed

Teacher Assistant

kali@alsschools.com




Kristen Applegate


K-12 Fine and Performing Arts Teacher

kapplegate@alsschools.com




Lamya Al Amer

Teacher Assistant

lalamer@alsschools.com




Lydia Wenceslao

Teacher Assistant

lwenceslao@alsschools.com




Mahmoud Salem

ICT Teacher

msalem@alsschools.com




Majdi El Hajj

Boys' Principal

melhajj@alsschools.com




Mark Johnson

DP Coordinator/Business and Management Teacher

mjohnson@alsschools.com




Misti Mokros


Physical Education and Health Teacher

mmokros@alsschools.com




Mohammad Akour

Mathematics/ ICT Teacher/ASA Coordinator

makour@alsschools.com




Mohanned Barakat

Arabic Teacher

mbarakat@alsschools.com




Monique Boivin

Science/ Mathematics Teacher

mboivin@alsschools.com




Nasha'at Al- Darabseh

Music Teacher

naldarabseh@alsschools.com




Nenita Herrmann

Librarian

nhermann@alsschools.com




Nicholas McGregor

Grade 5 Homeroom Teacher

nmcgregor@alsschools.com




Osama Khalil

Arabic Teacher

okhalil@alsschools.com




Raed Duraidi

Arabic Teacher

rdareedi@alsschools.com




Rana Fraij

Arabic/Islamic Studies Teacher

rfraij@alsschools.com




Rania Kottish

Arabic Teacher/Team Leader

rqatish@alsschools.com




Rayana Kaissi

Grade 5 Homeroom Teacher

rkaissi@alsschools.com




Rayda Jacobs

Grade 6 Homeroom Teacher

rjacobs@alsschools.com




Rhodora Figueroa

Teacher Assistant

rfigueroa@alsschools.com




Rolla Abu-Saqer

MYP Coordinator/Mathematics Teacher MYP Personal Project Coordinator/Girls' Coordinator

rabusager@alsschools.com




Sahar El Masri

Grade 3 Homeroom Teacher

smasri@alsschools.com




Sharon Pineda

Teacher Assistant

spineda@alsschools.com




Sofia Oprinoiu

Mathematics Teacher

soprinoiu@alsschools.com




Suhair Ghandour

Girls and College Counsellor

sghandour@alsschools.com




Tania Maana

Mathematics/ Physics Teacher

tmaana@alsschools.com




Todd Applegate

Art Teacher

tapplegate@alsschools.com




Wassim Fakih

Mathematics/ Physics Teacher/ 7-12 Mathematics Team Leader

wfakih@alsschools.com




Yamame Saleh

Grade 1 Homeroom Teacher /K-6 Mathematics and Science Team Leader

ysaleh@alsschools.com




Zarmina Hotaki

English/ToK Teacher

zhotaki@alsschools.com





























Download 0.8 Mb.

Share with your friends:
1   2   3   4   5   6




The database is protected by copyright ©sckool.org 2020
send message

    Main page