Abhishek kumar aashish jindal

Germany defeats France to lift Junior Men’s Hockey World Cup

Download 1.72 Mb.
Size1.72 Mb.
1   ...   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   ...   67

Germany defeats France to lift Junior Men’s Hockey World Cup

December 18, 2013

Germany registered a record sixth title win defeating France in the title clash of the Hero Junior Men’s Hockey World Cup held at the Major Dhyan Chand Stadium in DelhiIndia. Germany’s Niklas Wellen stunned the opponent with a brilliant hat-trick to guide defending champions to victory.

Australia regains Ashes Test Series

December 18, 2013

Australia reclaimed the Ashes test series just four months after the last series defeat in England with a 3rd Test victory on home soil.
The Ashes:

The Ashes is a conceptional prize in a Test cricket series played betweenAustralia and England. The Ashes are regarded as being held by the team that won the last Test series between those sides or, if that series was drawn, by the team that last won such a series. Traditionally, Ashes series consists of 5 Testsplayed biennially with England and Australia taking turns as host.
Why is it called the Ashes?

The association of the term ‘the Ashes’ with England v/s Australia test series has a story behind. In 1882, Australia defeated England for the first time in Test on England’s soil. Following this, a British newspaperThe Sporting Times, published a satirical obituary stating that the English cricket had died, and the body will be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia. The mythical ashes instantly became associated with the 1882–83 series played in Australia, before which the English skipper Ivo Bligh had vowed to “regain those ashes”. The English media therefore called the tour the quest to regain the Ashes.

After England had won two of the three Tests of the series, a group of Melbourne women presented a small urn to Bligh. Among those women was Florence Morphy, whom Bligh married within a year. The contents of the urn are reputed to be the ashes of a wooden bail, and were amusingly described as “the ashes of Australian cricket”. There is ambiguity whether that “tiny silver urn” is the same as the small terracotta urn given to the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) by Bligh’s widow after his demise in 1927.

The urn has never been the official trophy of the Ashes series, having been a personal gift to Bligh. However, replicas of the urn are often held aloft by winning teams as a symbol of their victory in an Ashes series.

Men’s Hockey Champions Trophy 2014 to be held in Bhubaneswar

December 18, 2013

As per the announcement of International Hockey Federation (FIH),Bhubaneswar, capital of Odisha will host the 35th edition of the Champions Trophy men’s hockey tournament to be held from December 13-21 in 2014.

The event will be held at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar which is currently undergoing renovation. The event will be hosted by Hockey India in collaboration with Orissa state government.
Hockey Champions Trophy

  • The Hockey Champions Trophy is an international field hockey tournament organized by the International Hockey Federation (since 1978).

  • Founder: Pakistan’s Air Marshal Nur Khan in 1978

  • Initiator: Pakistan Hockey Federation as a men’s tournament in 1978

  • Teams:  8 elite hockey teams compete in a round robin format of hockey.

  • Period: Initially, it was an annual event from 1980 for men and 1987 for women. Later changed into a biennial event from the 2014 editionsonward due to the introduction of the Hockey World League.

  • Achievers: Australia stands on top in men’s event by winning the trophy 13 times followed by the Germans (9), and the Dutch (8). Pakistan is the only Asian champion, with 3 titles. In the women’s event both the Netherlands and Australia have won the trophy 6 times, while Argentina won 5 titles.

  • India has never won Hockey Champions Trophy

Winners of 2012: Men’s – Australia, Women’s- Argentina

India defeats Pak to lift Men’s Kabaddi World Cup

December 18, 2013

India clinched men’s Kabaddi World Cup for the fourth time in row, defeating its arch rival Pakistan in the neck and neck final clash played at Guru Nanak Dev Stadium in Ludhiana, Punjab.

Men’s World Cup Kabaddi 2013:

Organizer: Government of Punjab, India

Final Match: Guru Nanak Dev Stadium in Ludhiana, Punjab.

Teams Played11 Teams played representing their respective nations. The teams were from Argentina, Canada, England, Denmark, Pakistan, India,Kenya, Scotland, Sierra Leone, Spain, and the US

Winner: India defeated Pakistan

Key Players: India’s Haravinder Singh Dulla was voted Best Raider andBalbir Singh Best Stopper of the tournament.

Download 1.72 Mb.

Share with your friends:
1   ...   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   ...   67

The database is protected by copyright ©sckool.org 2022
send message

    Main page