Abhishek kumar aashish jindal

EC declares AAP a state party

Download 1.72 Mb.
Size1.72 Mb.
1   ...   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   ...   67

EC declares AAP a state party

December 10, 2013

In the 2013 Delhi state assembly elections, AAP emerged as the second largest party in Delhi winning 28 seats in the assembly. After a remarkable performance in the Delhi state assembly election Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is all set to be recognized as ‘a state party’ by the Election Commission.

About Aam Aadmi Party (AAP)

  • Mr. Arvind Kejriwal launched AAP on November 26, 2012, who was the former member of India Against Corruption (IAC) movement, founded by Anna Hazare.

  • Election symbol – Broom Stick

  • Central manifesto – to implement the Jan Lokapal Bill within 15 days of coming to power.

  • The AAP led several protests like a campaign against an alleged nexus between government and private corporations relating to price rises for electricity and water in Delhi,  etc.
How does EC recognizes a ‘state party’?

As per the criteria of election commission, a party can be called as a state party if all its candidates get minimum of 8 percent votes or secure minimum of 6% of the total votes polled and one assembly seat for every 25 seats in the state. After the announcement, the party will have the option of retaining its original symbol or it may design an alternative symbol for its party.

Note: If a political party is recognized as a “State Party” in four or more States then it will automatically become a national party.
How much does recognition matter for any party? How does recognition of a Party as a ‘State Party’ helps that party ?

EC recognition of any party as a State Party will entail the party to participate in the all-party meetings convened by the EC/State/Central Government, get a permanent common symbol for all their contestants, privilege to address the voters through the All India Radio and Doordarshan during poll.

India to Host 2017 FIFA U-17 World Cup

December 13, 2013

India will host the 2017 Under-17 World Cup Football. This will be the first time India will host an international football competition at world level.

The 2017 FIFA U-17 World Cup will be the 17th tournament of the FIFA U-17 World Cup. It is the world championship of association football for male players under the age of 17 organized by Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA).

After the meeting in Salvador da Bahia, Brazil,  FIFA executive committee unveiled that By virtue of being the host country, India will take part in the 24-nation tournament for the first time in its history.

India hosted Asian Football Co federation’s Youth Championships (Under-20) in 2006 and then the AFC Challenge Cup in 2008 but never any FIFA tournament.

Tournament will be held in 6 venues which are to be selected from eight cities – New Delhi, Margao, Banglore, Pune , Mumbai, Kolkata, Kochi and Guwahati.

Note: The 2013 FIFA U-17 World Cup was held in the United Arab Emirates and won by Nigeria after defeating MexicoChile will be the host country for the 2015 edition.

  • FIFA awarded South Korea to host Under-20 World Cup in 2017,Jordan to host Women’s Under-17 World Cup in 2016 and South Africato host 2016 FIFA Under 20 Women’s World Cup.

Miss Earth Venezuela” Alyz Henrich wins the Miss Earth beauty pageant 2013

December 13, 2013

Miss Earth Venezuela” Alyz Henrich won the 13th edition of the Miss Earth Pageant held at the Versailles Palace in Alabang, Muntilupa City, PhilippinesMiss Earth is an annual international beauty pageant promoting environmental awareness.

Eighty-eight contestants from all over the world competed and the winner was.

Alyz Henrich’s cause for the pageant is to ensure water preservation.
The Venezuelan beauty chosen to keep waters of an island cleans as her environmental advocacy.

Other winners are:

  • Miss Earth Fire:        Miss Korea Catharina Choi

  • Miss Earth Water:    Miss Thailand Punika Kulsoontornrut

  • Miss Earth Air:         Miss Austria Katia Wagner

India’s participant for the pageant was Sobhita Dhulipala, who failed to make it in the list of top 16. She won the Miss Photogenic and the Miss Eco Beauty Title contests.

About Miss Earth beauty pageant

  • Established in 2001 to uphold the advocacy to preserve and restore theenvironment.

  • Headquarters are at Manila, Philippines

  • The title-holder serves as the ambassador for environmental protection campaigns worldwide.

  • Nicole Faria is the first Indian contestant to have won the title in 2010.

Download 1.72 Mb.

Share with your friends:
1   ...   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   ...   67

The database is protected by copyright ©sckool.org 2022
send message

    Main page