2013 scholarship awards program application aptf scholarship awards program guidelines

Download 173.6 Kb.
Size173.6 Kb.
  1   2






The mission of the American Public Transportation Foundation (APTF) is to increase and retain the number of young professionals entering the public transportation field as a career in order to sustain growth and improvement throughout the industry. The following APTF Scholarships provide awards to deserving students – the future leaders of the public transportation industry.

  1. SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM: All member organizations of the American Public Transportation Association (APTA) are given the opportunity to nominate and sponsor upper class or graduate level college students to receive APTF Scholarships awarded annually to assist with tuition costs or other educational expenses. Awards are for the academic year beginning in the 2013 fall semester. An endorsement must come from any APTA member for anyone interested in pursuing a career in public transportation. (contact APTF staff for APTA member endorsement information: yconley@apta.com)

  1. AWARDS: Each summer, subject to the availability of funding, the APTF will award a minimum of fourteen (14) new scholarships of at least $2500 each for the following academic school year (fall semester) to individuals in public transportation industry-related fields of study. The new scholarships given each year are the APTF named-scholarships below:

  • The Jack R. Gilstrap Scholarship - awarded to the applicant receiving the highest overall score

  • The Parsons Brinckerhoff – Jim Lammie Scholarship - awarded to an applicant dedicated to a public transportation engineering career

  • The Louis T. Klauder Scholarship - awarded to an applicant dedicated to a career in the rail transit industry as an electrical or mechanical engineer

  • The Dan M. Reichard, Jr. Scholarship - awarded to an applicant dedicated to a career in the business administration/management area of the transit industry

  • The Dr. George M. Smerk Scholarship – awarded to an applicant dedicated to a career in public transit management

  • The Richard J. Bouchard Scholarship – awarded to an applicant dedicated to a career in public transportation planning and development.

  • The Florida Public Transportation Association Scholarship (FPTA) – awarded to an applicant from the state of Florida, and sponsored by a Florida public transit system or the FPTA.

  • The Reba Malone Scholarship- awarded to an applicant dedicated to a career in transit or transportation marketing/communications

  • The Raymond C. Miller Scholarship – awarded to an applicant dedicated to a career in transit marketing

  • The Shirley DeLibero Scholarship – awarded to an African-American applicant dedicated to a career in public transportation

  • The William Millar Scholarship – awarded to a young student committed to entering the public transit industry

  • The Jerome C. Premo Scholarship –awarded to an applicant committed to public administration/public policy in the transit community.

  • The BMBG/Janie Wulkan Memorial Scholarship – awarded to a female applicant committed to a career in public transportation.

A minimum of two additional scholarships may be awarded to applicants planning a career in public transportation either with a transit agency or a transit business member organization. In addition, the foundation will award a minimum of $500 for the Donald C. Hyde Memorial Essay which represents the best response to the required essay component of the program.

Based on availability of funds, the awards may be renewable for each year of the academic program provided the recipients continue to: (1) maintain good standing in the approved fields of study. If, for any reason, a student fails to maintain good academic standing and the course of study is interrupted, the renewable award will be terminated. (An APTF RENEWAL application form MUST be completed.)
Award winners will receive a complimentary subscription to APTA’s weekly newspaper, Passenger Transport, and a complimentary registration for major APTA meetings during their tenure in the program.

  1. ELIGIBILITY: Applicants must be enrolled in a fully accredited institution, have and maintain at least a 3.0 GPA (B) in course work that is relevant to the industry or required of a degree program, and demonstrate a strong interest in entering the public transportation industry. College sophomores (30 hours or more satisfactorily completed), juniors, seniors, or those seeking advanced degrees may apply for scholarships.

  1. NOMINATIONS AND APPLICATIONS: Any APTA member organization may nominate and sponsor candidates for the scholarship program. All FPTA Scholarship applicants must be sponsored by a Florida public transit organization or the FPTA and he/she must be from the state of Florida. A completed on-line application must be submitted, with all required supporting documents, submitted online and shall include the following: (Incomplete applications will not be reviewed by the APTF Board of Directors) (ALL DOCUMENTS MUST BE SUBMITTED ELECTRONICALLY)

  • Essay on “In what segment of the public transportation industry will you make a career and why?” (1,000 words maximum);

  • Three letters of recommendation as described in the application form; (letters of recommendation should address your commitment, demonstrated interest and career goals in public transportation)

  • A copy of completed Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA);

  • Official school transcripts;

  • Verification of enrollment for the 2013 fall semester; and

  • Copy of the fee schedule from the college/university for the academic year.

  • Signature of APTA sponsor.

  1. SELECTION: The APTF Board of Directors will rate and select scholarship recipients and the essay winner. The selection criteria includes demonstrated interest in the public transportation industry as a career, academic achievement, essay content and quality, need for financial assistance, and involvement in extracurricular citizenship and leadership activities. Selection will be made without regard to disability, race, color, religion, sex or ethnic origin. It is the intent of this program to provide equal opportunity and consideration to all qualified individuals.

6. TIMETABLE: Scholarships are for the academic year beginning in the fall of 2013. All applications must be received at the APTF by May 31 electronically. Please note that incomplete applications will not be considered by the APTF Board of Directors. The APTF Board of Directors will select the recipients in July, and nominees will be appropriately notified of awards. Scholarship award winners will be presented at the 2013 APTA Annual Meeting, September 29 through October 2, 2013

in Chicago, Illinois.



Application must be received by

May 31, 2013 Yvette E. Conley, Director-Development Submit applications electronically: American Public Transportation Foundation

www.aptfd.org 1666 K Street, NW, Suite 1100

Washington, D.C. 20006


Tel: (202) 496-4868 E-mail: yconley@apta.com

Download 173.6 Kb.

Share with your friends:
  1   2

The database is protected by copyright ©sckool.org 2022
send message

    Main page