12th World Congress on Environment Management

Download 60.39 Kb.
Size60.39 Kb.
12th World Congress on Environment Management
28 -29 May, 2010, The Ashok, New Delhi, India
Theme: Governance for Climate Security –

Carbon, Climate, Cancun and Commonsense


Friday, 28th May 2010


1800 hrs onwards

Plenary Session - 1

Opening Ceremony

1900 – 2100 hrs

Invocation and Lighting of Convention lamp

Welcome Address

Dr S Z Qasim, former Member Planning Commission, Govt of India, Chairman, World Environment Foundation

Opening Address

Ola Ullsten, former Prime Minister of Sweden, Chairman, World Council for Corporate Governance, UK

Students Essay Competition – Presentation by Finalists

How can PROACTIVATE save the planet’

Theme Address

Dr Madhav Mehra, President, World Council for Corporate Governance

Keynote Speaker

Dr Kirit Parikh, Chairman, Expert Group on Strategy – Low Carbon Economy, Planning Commission, Govt of India

Special Address

Ram Jethmalani, President, Supreme Court Bar Association, former Union Law Minister of India

Guest of Honour

Hon’ble Justice Dr Arijit Pasayat, Chairman, Competition Appellate Tribunal

Chief Guest’s Address

Kumari Selja, Hon’ble Minister for Tourism, Govt of India

Presentation of Golden Peacock Awards by the Chief Guest

Welcome Dinner

2100 hrs

Saturday 29th May 2010

Plenary Session – 2

Dematerialisation, Green Accounting and PROACTIVATE

0900 – 1015 hrs


Dr P J Dilip Kumar, DGF, Ministry of Environment and Forest, Govt of India


Pradeep Chaturvedi, Vice Chairman, World Environment Foundation

Ashok B Chakraborty, Group General Manager Chief CMG & Chief CSR, ONGC

Dr Sunder Balakrishnan, Harita NTI

Lavinia Mawlong, Prog Assistant, Economic Security & Rights, UNIFEM- South Asia

H R Bangia, Hony Secy, Indian Institute of Public Administration, Haryana Region

Pallavi Pant, Shakti Sustainable Energy Foundation, India

Plenary Session – 3

Climate Change and the Common Man

1015 – 1115 hrs


Dharam Vir, IAS (retd), State Election Commissioner of Haryana and former Chief Secretary of Haryana


Dr Vinod Prakash Gupta, IAS (retd), former Principal Secretary H.P Govt, Practicing Advocate, HP High Court

Dr Rekha Jagannath, Director, Maharani Lakshmiammanni Centre, Bangalore

Mr Anmol Singh Jaggi, Director, Gensol Consultants Pvt Ltd, Gujarat

Tushar Pandey, Executive Vice President and Country Head, Yes Bank Ltd

Jagat S Jawa, Director General, Solar Energy Society of India

Vishal Pandya, Asst Manager – Business Development, Indian Energy Exchange Ltd

Zeenat Niazi, Programme Director, Development Alternatives


1115 – 1145 hrs

Plenary Session -4

1145 – 1300 hrs

Keynote Session

Environment Challenges – A Plea for Holistic Approach


Dr M P Bezbaruah, former Secretary, Tourism and UN-WTO, Representative in India

Dr Matthew Hibberd, Deputy Head and Director, University of Stirling, UK

Dr Juergen Bischoff, Director GTZ - ASEM, Germany

Prof Vladimir Y Smorodin, Dept of Biological Science, University of Delaware, USA

Justine Dargin, Research Fellow, The Dubai Initiative & Fulbright Scholar of Middle East

Monty Humble, Board Member of Coalition for Green Capital, USA


1300 – 1345 hrs

Plenary Session – 5

Presentations by the Finalists of Golden Peacock Awards for Climate Security - 2010

1345 – 1600 hrs

Finalists being announced shortly


1600 – 1630 hrs

Plenary Session – 6

Presentations by the Winners of Golden Peacock Eco-Innovation Award -2010 -

1630 – 1730 hrs

Winners to be announced

Plenary Session –7

Valedictory Session

Climate Change – from Copenhagen to Cancun

1730 – 1745 hrs

Pradeep Chaturvedi, Vice Chairman, World Environment Foundation

Valedictory Address

Dr Pradipto Ghosh, former Secretary, Ministry of Environment & Forest, Govt of India

Chairman Address

Justice P N Bhagwati, former Chief Justice of India

Closing Remarks

Dr Madhav Mehra, President, World Council for Corporate Governance

*Confirmation awaited*

*Draft programme is tentative and subject to change


Download 60.39 Kb.

Share with your friends:

The database is protected by copyright ©sckool.org 2022
send message

    Main page