Haack [Haacke, Haak, Haake], Friedrich Wilhelm

Download 30,31 Mb.
Date conversion26.04.2018
Size30,31 Mb.
1   ...   688   689   690   691   692   693   694   695   ...   757

Hughes, Anselm [Humphrey Vaughan]

(b London, 15 April 1889; d Nashdom, 8 Sept 1974). English musicologist. Educated at Westminster School (1901–5), Keble College, Oxford (1908–11; BA 1911, MA 1915), and Ely Theological College (1911–12), he was ordained deacon in 1912 and priest in 1913. Between 1912 and 1922 he served as curate and choir director of various London churches and from 1915 to 1920 was clerical secretary of the Society of the Faith. In 1922 he joined the Anglican Benedictine community at Pershore Abbey and was professed the following year; he was director of music at Pershore (which in 1926 moved to Nashdom Abbey, Buckinghamshire) from 1922 to 1945 and prior from 1936 to 1945. He was long associated with the Plainsong and Mediaeval Music Society, serving as honorary secretary and treasurer (1926–35), chairman of council (1950–60) and from 1949 as vice-president. From 1945 to 1964 he was president of the Guild of St Gregory, and from 1951 to 1961 chairman of the Faith Press. He became an FSA in 1953 and vice-president of the Gregorian Association in 1960. His papers are preserved at Royal Holloway, University of London.

Dom Anselm was a pioneer in England in research into medieval and Renaissance music. He contributed much valuable material to Grove's Dictionary (3rd–5th edns), the second edition of The Oxford History Of Music and its successor The New Oxford History Of Music, of which he edited the second and, with Gerald Abraham, the third volumes.


Latin Hymnody: an Enquiry into the Underlying Principles of the Hymnarium (London, 1922)

‘Theoretical Writers on Music up to 1400’, OHM, introductory vol., ed. P.C. Buck (2/1929/R), 117–32

Liturgical Terms for Music Students (Boston, 1940/R)

Medieval Polyphony in the Bodleian Library (Oxford, 1951)

Catalogue of the Musical Manuscripts at Peterhouse, Cambridge (Cambridge, 1953)

‘Early Medieval Music up to 1300’, ‘Ars Nova and the Renaissance, c1300–1540’, The History of Music in Sound, ii, iii (London, 1953) [disc notes]

‘The Birth of Polyphony’, ‘Music in the Twelfth Century’, ‘Music in Fixed Rhythms’, ‘The Motet and Allied Forms’, Early Medieval Music up to 1300 NOHM, ii (1954), 270–86, 287–310, 311–52, 353–404

Septuagesima: Reminiscences of the Plainsong and Mediaeval Music Society (London, 1959)

Plainsong for English Choirs (Leighton Buzzard, 1966)

In hoc anni circulo’, MQ, lx (1974), 37–45


Early English Harmony, ii: Transcriptions and Notes (London, 1913)

Worcester Mediaeval Harmony of the Thirteenth and Fourteenth Centuries (Burnham, Bucks., 1928/R)

with H.B. Collins: The Old Hall Manuscript (London, 1933–8) [completion of Ramsbotham’s edition]

Anglo-French Sequelae, edited from the Papers of the Late Dr. Henry Marriott Bannister (London, 1934/R)

with P. Grainger: English Gothic Music (London, 1941–91)

The Fayrfax Series of Early English Choral Music (London, 1949–61)

The Portiforium of St Wulstan (Leighton Buzzard, 1958–60)

The Bec Missal, Henry Bradshaw Society, xciv (London, 1963)


Hughes, Arwel

(b Rhosllanerchrugog, 25 Aug 1909; d Cardiff, 23 Sept 1988). Welsh composer, conductor and administrator. He was educated at Ruabon Grammar School and at the Royal College of Music, where he studied with Kitson and Vaughan Williams. Following his studies at the RCM he became the organist at the church of St Philip and St James, Oxford, and in 1935 returned to Wales to join the staff of the BBC’s music department. As well as composing and arranging for live radio broadcasts, his duties there included a great deal of conducting, and he directed the first performances of many works by Welsh composers, including Grace Williams, David Wynne and Alun Hoddinott. From 1965 to 1971, when he retired, he was head of music of BBC Wales. He was appointed OBE in 1969 for his services to Welsh music and for organizing the music for the investiture of the Prince of Wales. He was honorary music director of the International Eisteddfod at Llangollen (1978–86).

For many years Hughes conducted performances by the WNO, and his own two operas, Menna, a tragedy based on a Welsh folk legend, and Serch yw’r doctor (‘Love’s the doctor’), a comedy adapted from Molière, were produced by the company in 1954 and 1960. Demonstrating his melodic originality and lyricism, these works played an important role in the development of opera in Wales. He is held in the highest esteem for his music for chorus and orchestra. The large-scale oratorios Dewi Sant (‘St David’) and Pantycelyn exemplify his imagination and technical competence and combine the early 20th-century British choral tradition with his original harmonic language. A recognisably Celtic personality is revealed in the haunting melodies of such works as Gweddi (‘A Prayer’). Hughes’s orchestral writing includes the skilfully written and much-performed Fantasia for strings.


(selective list)

Stage: Menna (op, 3, W. Griffith), 1950–51, perf. 1954; Serch yw’r doctor [Love’s the Doctor] (op, 3, S. Lewis, after Molière: L’amour médecin), perf. 1960; St Francis (masque, G. James), S, T, nar, chorus, orch, 1965

Choral: Tydi a Roddaist (T. Rowland Hughes), chorus, pf, arr. female/male chorus, orch, 1938; Gweddi [A Prayer] (liturgical text), S, chorus, str/orch, 1944; Dewi Sant [St David] (A.T. Davies), S, T, B, chorus, orch, 1950; Pantycelyn (text arr. A.T. Davies), S, T, B, chorus, orch, 1963; Mab y Dyn [Son of Man] (cant., Bible), S, chorus, org, 1967; The Beatitudes (Bible), S/T, TTBB, org; In memoriam (Ps cxxi), chorus, org, 1969; Ps cxlviii, male chorus, 1970; Mass for Celebration, S, A, male chorus, orch without ww, 1977; Gloria Patri, SATB, orch, 1986

Orch: Fantasia, str, 1936; Anatiomaros, 1943; Prelude, 1945; Suite, 1947; Sym., 1971; Legend: Owain Glyndwr, 1979

Other: 3 str qts, 1948, 1976, 1983; folksong arrs.; incid music for radio and TV

Principal publishers: Aureus, Gwynn

1   ...   688   689   690   691   692   693   694   695   ...   757

The database is protected by copyright ©sckool.org 2016
send message

    Main page